Tuesday, August 18, 2009

Marshmallow Madness

Marshmallows are not vegetarian (did you know?) because they usually contain gelatin. A while back I came across this recipe for vegetarian marshmallows, but haven't had a chance to try making them until today! My friend Mary came over and we worked together to make these.

The end result - delicious. Sweet, clean and fresh tasting. The vanilla was strong, and since I used a real vanilla bean, it was fun to see the little black specks throughout. Not that much different from a regular marshmallow, actually, rather like the texture of the first one you take from a freshly opened bag. Marshmallows aren't my favorite treat (clearly I had to put it IN chocolate, see above) but it is nice to know they can easily be made vegetarian for those of us who do not eat meat!

The replacement for the gelatin was xantham gum, which is also used in gluten-free baking, because it adds stabilization and structure. In this particular recipe it made the vegetarian marshmallows so stable they almost refused to melt down to be made into rice krispie treats!

Vegetarian Rice Krispie Treats
Almost. We managed. :)

Categories: Marshmallows

6 comments:

DaviMack said...

Yum! Thanks for the link to the recipe!

Mary said...

Yay!! Was so much fun! Thanks again.

Michele said...

Congratulations! Vegan marshmallows are so hard to make!

Laura said...

where did you get the recipe?

DaviMack said...

Jenny: check out PostPunkKitchen and you'll know where we're going next. I dare you to go there, too. ;)

florestanandeusebius said...

That hot chocolate looks delicious! How do you make it?